I AM   Leave a comment


I’ve wasted time
wondering where to stand
what to do with my hands
trying to call up contentment

I’ve spent time well
in shadows and shapes
watching light come through
venetian blinds where strings are strung
and elliptical shadows show on the wall
changing as the sun shifts 

I discover things that matter
but forget what I should know
too old for shyness
but it’s mine instead of fiery red hair
or my father’s bulbous nose

Mary Strong Jackson
Posted February 10, 2011 by strongjacksonpoet54 in Poetry of Mary Strong Jackson

Leave a Reply

