The New Homeless Rage   2 comments


http://www.sfreporter.com/santafe/article-6534-homeless-in-santa-fe.html

Check out the above link to read my article and a companion piece by an awesome, brave, funny woman who was homeless in Santa Fe.

2 responses to “The New Homeless Rage

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mary, thank you so much for writing this. My husband always gets the SF Reporter, and I never ever read it. Last night I read 50 pages into Julia Cameron’s Vein of Gold and was looking for ideas for the required weekly artist’s dates. Then I saw your article and forgot all about my creativity. I emailed Cynthia and am hoping she responds. I’m hoping others will contact her as well. I’ve been close to skid row a few times in my life, and this was a reminder of just how hard it is once you’re there. Can’t get a PO Box. Don’t have a phone for any job prospects to reach you. It’s so frustrating with the bureaucracy set up to keep people from taking advantage of the system. It’s not like most people want to be in that situation or are taking advantage of it like this is their dream situation for the rest of their lives. I guess I haven’t been motivated to get off my butt and do something before because I questioned how much help I could really provide. But God, if we all somehow could help a little it would be something.

    Thanks again,
    Claudia

    Like

    Claudia Escareno-Clark
    • Dear Claudia,

      Thanks so much for your response. Cynthia has gotten responses and is planning a meeting at the Santa Fe Clubhouse on Feb. 22nd at 3PM. She’s hoping to get ideas on how to organize the whole “Need and Deed” idea. One little thing that people need is bus passes to get to jobs and appointments. You are right, if we can all do something whether it is small or big, it does make a difference.

      Thank you again for taking the time to respond.

      Cheers,
      Mary

      Like

Leave a Reply

