Standing   Leave a comment


Standing

My father lies naked on the floor
I can’t lift him
I call my brother
my brother can barely stand this

I consider the portals
he longs to slip through
I cover my father with a blanket

his body once lifted whole roads
fists swung and pushed and cussed

my brother’s feelings hover over the three of us
fragmented drone missiles
wanting to shoot, not knowing the target

we try to help my father stand
years of shoving, shoveling, evading took his strength
I want to stretch my legs into a sunset

my brother can barely stand this work
I pull underwear up our father’s legs
ask him to lean one way
tell my brother to pull
the other side of the underwear

my brother can barely
stand this work

I call 911 to help us raise
our father, lift him, toss him in the air,
put him in bed, spoon sweet food
in his mouth

“We can’t keep doing this,”
my brother says

Mary Strong Jackson

Posted January 9, 2013 by strongjacksonpoet54 in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

