She Leaves Him with Clean Underwear   1 comment


not long before she died
she sent me to K-Mart
with money in my pocket
to buy dad white handkerchiefs and underwear

I returned with the goods
placed them on the round wooden kitchen table
grooved with beauty marks and worn edges

“Now you’re set from top to bottom” she said to him
her face that day
set in my selective memory
forever
even upon the arrival of a time
when I’ll forget most everything

her grin
childlike
the skin around her smiling eyes
wrinkled

from the mirror today
she smiled at me from my face
is this reincarnation?

like my father’s voice coming through
the telephone spoken by my brothers
the surprise lasts a second or two

when I glimpse her face in mine
she tells me it’s okay
to grow old
to forgive those who hurt you
buy them something clean and new
to last until they’re gone

until a voice on the phone
or a look reminds you
they remain

Mary Strong Jackson
August 4, 2013

Posted August 8, 2013 by strongjacksonpoet54 in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

One response to “She Leaves Him with Clean Underwear

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The voice of ones father heard in the voices of his sons.. reminds me of the voice of god coming from my childs mouth or the Question out of nowhere that comes from somebody you don’t know, yet you have to interact with briefly “What are you doing Here?” meaning Get out of this place, you’ve used it up or it’s used you up….It stays in the mind like the wretched half choke-strangle you can’t clear when you swallow “wrong”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

