Raven and I hop from Curb on Luana Street   Leave a comment


We met eye to eye that day on that curb
me crossing the street to Jambo Café
Raven crossing to the bin – one of her usual lunch spots

she opened her wings with a sexy shiny shake
I with my flesh-covered, goose-bumped unhinge of arms
trying to be wings —  made us both cackle

she cocked her head
gave a bounce
winked
we jumped two-footed off the curb

for a moment suspended in air
I believed I could fly
and looked down from my bird’s eye view
immensity
I saw more gold in the world than not

we landed
just two lucky birds

Posted October 21, 2013 by strongjacksonpoet54 in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

