You Bury Me   Leave a comment


not between cottonwoods and jack pines
bury me between your shoulder blades
where wild roots and twisted branches grow
bury me in the crook of your elbow
in the spirals of your ears

not on the broad-backed prairie
bury me behind your knees
under your tongue
in the hollow of your hip

don’t bury me with dead spirits
put me in the musk-pit of your arm
the whorl of your belly-button
the sockets of both eyes

bury me in your brain

Ya’aburnee
Arabic – Both morbid and beautiful at once, this incantatory word means “You bury me,” a declaration of one’s hope that they’ll die before another person because of how difficult it would be to live without them

Posted September 7, 2014 by strongjacksonpoet54 in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

