How lucky am I? Free poetry workshops led by prize-winning poet Tony Hoagland in Santa Fe!   Leave a comment


I wrote this for an assignment which was to imitate the form of a poem written by Spencer Reece called Portofino.

After Portofino
Promise me that you will wash the porcupine.
Promise me that you will put the soap away
in the ivory dish under mother’s painting.
Never mind the holes poked in the bar.

Perhaps then you will grasp the need for structure,
but with holes in it for living.
A blue towel? A work of art. Poky things.
Promise me you will make sense of these.

And when your thoughts sharpen, when the suds clear,
you will see the need to wash porcupines.
And you will know what I said is true
when I said with structure there must be plenty of holes.

Posted October 1, 2014 by strongjacksonpoet54 in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

